MPTech

How do I determine what MAME version I have?

I'm new to this forum, but I've been running MAME since 2006.

I built my MAME Cabinet in 2006 and enjoyed many years of gaming.
Last year, I decided to rebuild my Arcade Cabinet, new Computer, Monitor, Control panel and all new software and front-end (HyperSpin).
My old ROM Set was 0.104 and worked great.
With my rebuild, I'm upgrading everything, so I got a new ROM set that is almost 3 times the number of games in the set (and much larger), but I've looked and can't determine what MAME version it is. I really don't need the latest and greatest Roms, but I've read that my MAME version needs to match my ROM set.
The zip files all have a create date of 6/8/2010, is this how I determine the version?
Would I use mame0139s.zip (11 Aug 2010)? (how do I get a NoNag, HiScore version?) I know I will want a x64 version (yes, my computer is x64)

Thanks for your help, excited about getting back into this after a couple year hiatus)
mhoes

Re: How do I determine what MAME version I have?

Hi,

By reading your post, I guess you mean 'how do I determine what MAME.exe version goes with the romset I currently have', and not 'what MAME version is the mame.exe binary I currently have' ? I don't think there is any way to determine that, your best bet is probably by going to the place where you got the romset and see if they say anything about what MAME version it is for. (If I have misread your question, a way to determine what MAME.exe version you are running is by opening a command prompt and typing 'mame.exe -?', and it will tell you what version it is. Or by double clicking the binary, and it will tell you the version at the top of the screen.)

You may not need the 'latest and greatest', but it is probably easier to get a MAME version and matching romset for the latest release than for something older than that ?