Marios Georgiou
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:52 pm

Prescale option help

What is the maximum value for prescale option and what is
the minimum value? What is the minimum option for completely
disable prescale option without upscaling?

Also where in mame.ini file of Mame i must put resolution option and how for selecting a resolution?

Also can i use -0 or 0 for disabling it in prescale option?

mhoes
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Prescale option help

Does this help ?

http://docs.mamedev.org/commandline/win ... t=prescale
-prescale

Controls the size of the screen images when they are passed off to the graphics system for scaling. At the minimum setting of 1, the screen is rendered at its original resolution before being scaled. At higher settings, the screen is expanded by a factor of before being scaled. With -video d3d, this produces a less blurry image at the expense of some speed. The default is 1.

Marios Georgiou
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: Prescale option help

No. Does not explains maximum and minimum value mame accepts.

Marios Georgiou
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: Prescale option help

What is the maximum value i can set to the Prescale setting in
mame.ini file in the latest version of mame? I thing it reverts to default 1 when i put a higher number to this setting without knowing the maximum value mame supports. I must find out the real values.

mhoes
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: Prescale option help

The minimum value is '1' (which is also the default), the maximum is '3'. If you specify an invalid value that is lower than '1' or higher than '3', the value gets reset to a value of '1'.

http://mametesters.org/view.php?id=5993
https://git.redump.net/mame/commit/src/ ... 0d7b683ad0

Return to “MAME Discussion”