Marios Georgiou
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:52 pm

I get black screen when try to capture an image

When i try to capture a image on mame's menu and inside
a game i get a black screen when i paste it to graphics program. What should i do?

mhoes
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: I get black screen when try to capture an image

What Mame version are you using, how are you trying to get the screenshots, and with which game for example do you get this ? I tried reproducing this with Mame v0.183 and '1944', and when I hit 'F12' the screenshots end up in my 'snaps/1944' directory with names like '0000.png, 0001.png, 0002.png' etc. [Please note that you cannot just hit 'print screen' on your keyboard to create screenshots, you must use 'F12' and then the screenshots end up in your 'snaps/gamename' directory.]

Marios Georgiou
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 7:52 pm

Re: I get black screen when try to capture an image

Id captured now. I didn't know that. But can i print a larger image?

mhoes
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:26 pm

Re: I get black screen when try to capture an image

I haven't actually tested this, but it looks like that if you use HLSL (hlsl_enable 1) you can then set 'hlsl_snap_width' and 'hlsl_snap_height' to the desired size in mame.ini, and will need to use (left) ALT+F12 to create the snapshot.

Return to “MAME Discussion”