fran

Hack Ninja Gaiden Arcade (1988 Original) for MAME

Hello,
I wanted to learn how to hack the Ninja Gaiden Arcade game (the original from 1988) for MAME. I'm trying it with the shadoww.zip version (Shadow Warriors (World, set 1).
My intention is to modify the graphics of the game.
Can you help me to know what programs I need and how to do it?
I am testing with Tile Molester and I have managed to visualize some sprites, but not complete ones. Like for example the sprite sequence of when he walks, jumps, runs, etc.
The palette in Tile Molester also looks bad. I have seen in some tutorial how from the Palette> Import from> This file option, the Offset and Size options make the color palette look good.
I extracted some tiles with mame0172b_64bit but they are divided and I don't know how to see Ryu Hayabusa in full to edit those tiles. I also don't know how to insert them back into the rom.
I have no knowledge of how to hack a rom.
I appreciate the help in advance.
Tafoid

Re: Hack Ninja Gaiden Arcade (1988 Original) for MAME

fran wrote: Mon Dec 13, 2021 3:42 pm Hello,
I wanted to learn how to hack the Ninja Gaiden Arcade game (the original from 1988) for MAME. I'm trying it with the shadoww.zip version (Shadow Warriors (World, set 1).
My intention is to modify the graphics of the game.
Can you help me to know what programs I need and how to do it?
I am testing with Tile Molester and I have managed to visualize some sprites, but not complete ones. Like for example the sprite sequence of when he walks, jumps, runs, etc.
The palette in Tile Molester also looks bad. I have seen in some tutorial how from the Palette> Import from> This file option, the Offset and Size options make the color palette look good.
I extracted some tiles with mame0172b_64bit but they are divided and I don't know how to see Ryu Hayabusa in full to edit those tiles. I also don't know how to insert them back into the rom.
I have no knowledge of how to hack a rom.
I appreciate the help in advance.